Meet Lexington’s new Urban County Council

Check out CivicLex‘s guide to the new Urban County Council:

Lexington will have a new Vice Mayor and 5 other new Council Members – here are their priorities.

Lexington has a new Council!

Election Day has wrapped up, and Lexingtonians showed out to vote for the future they want to see in Lexington! There will be a lot of new faces in City Hall in January – here’s a sneak peak.

Council will have a number of significant changes:

  • 40% of Council will be brand new to the role- including Lexington’s new Vice Mayor, Dan Wu, who will replace current Vice Mayor Steve Kay.
  • Districts 1, 2, 4, 6, and 10 will see new Council Members in Tayna Fogle, Shayla Lynch, Brenda Monarrez, Denise Gray, and Dave Sevigny.
    • This includes a big change in District 2 – Shayla Lynch won the seat over Josh McCurn, the only incumbent upset of the election.
    • Incumbents Chuck Ellinger (at Large), Hannah LeGris (D3), Liz Sheehan (D5), Preston Worley (D7), Fred Brown (D8), Whitney Baxter (D9), Jennifer Reynolds (D11), and Kathy Plomin (D12) all held on to their seats.
  • James Brown, former District 1 Council Member, will now be a Council at Large member, the only sitting District Council Member to move into an At Large  role.
  • This will also be the most diverse council on record with six Council Members of color – or 40% of the Council.
With so many new people on Council, it’s hard to predict how the body will change – but it’s clear that this Council’s priorities may be very different than past ones. As always, we’ll keep you updated on what Council is up to through the CivicLex Weekly. 

If you value and support our coverage of Council and city hall – and want to make sure we can keep it up next year – consider making a donation to us today. All donations in November will be 100% matched through NewsMatch and will go entirely to our city hall coverage.

One last thing – do you have 3 minutes to take our Exit Poll? It’s designed to help us get a understanding of how informed voters felt in making their choices yesterday!

Want to know more about the new Council Members? Read on below.

Mayor Linda Gorton

  • Mayor Gorton was first elected as Mayor in 2018. She was elected last night to serve in a second four year term.
  • Before becoming Mayor, she served for many years as the District 4 Councilmember, then Council At-Large and as Vice Mayor for one term.
  • Notable aspects of Mayor Gorton’s first term include governing through the COVID-19 Pandemic, creating the Racial Justice and Equality Commission, forming the One Lexington program to prevent youth violence, and delegating the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) funds.
  • You can find her campaign website, social media platforms, and various survey responses here.

Vice Mayor Dan Wu

Council At-Large Member James Brown

Council At-Large Member Chuck Ellinger

District One Council Member Tayna Fogle

District Two Council Member Shayla Lynch

District Three Council Member Hannah LeGris

  • Hannah LeGris has served as District 3’s Councilmember since 2020. This will be her second term on Council.
  • Issues listed on her website include Greenspace and Environmentalism; Human Rights & LGBTQ+ Initiatives; Supporting Local Business; Downtown Investment; Affordable Housing; Performing, Visual & Literary Arts; Bicycle & Pedestrian Infrastructure; and Government Accountability.
  • You can find her campaign website, social media platforms, and various survey responses here.

District Four Council Member Brenda Monarrez

  • Brenda Monarrez is a small business owner and formerly worked at the Kentucky Housing Corporation. She was District 4’s representative on the Redistrict Lexington Commission in 2021. This will be her first term on Council.
  • The issues listed on her website are Roads, Highways, and Transportation; Promoting Small Business; Public Safety; Urban Services Boundary; Fairness & Equality; Environmental Stewardship; Youth Engagement; and Affordable Housing. 
  • You can find her campaign website, social media platforms, and various survey responses here.

District Five Council Member Liz Sheehan

District Six Council Member Denise Gray

District Seven Council Member Preston Worley

District Eight Council Member Fred Brown

District Nine Council Member Whitney Baxter

District Ten Council Member Dave Sevigny

District Eleven Council Member Jennifer Reynolds

District Twelve Council Member Kathy Plomin

Do you value our coverage of city hall? Consider making a donation today to support our work.
Support LexVote and CivicLex

CivicLex has a Guidestar Gold Seal of Transparency. Please see CivicLex’s Guidestar profile for more information. CivicLex is a member of the Institute for Nonprofit News, LION Publishers, and the Kentucky Nonprofit Network.

All of CivicLex’s work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 United States License, feel free to steal it and use as you will. <3

You are receiving this email because you opted in via our website.

Our mailing address is:
141 East Main Street
Suite 400
Lexington, Ky 40508

Add us to your address book

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp