Mayor to be inaugurated, Council sworn-in

By Susan Straub (LFUCG press release)

Mayor Linda Gorton will be inaugurated and Vice Mayor-Elect Dan Wu and members of the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Council will be sworn-in at 2 p.m., Friday, December 30 at the University of Kentucky Gatton Student Center, 160 Avenue of Champions.

The Inauguration will mark the beginning of a second term for Mayor Linda Gorton, who was re-elected in November 2022. Additionally, the Urban County Council will be sworn-in, including Vice Mayor-elect Dan Wu, and Councilmembers James Brown (At-Large), Chuck Ellinger II (At-Large), Tayna Fogle (1st District), Shayla Lynch (2nd District), Hannah LeGris (3rd District), Brenda Monarrez (4th District), Liz Sheehan (5th District), Denise Gray (6th District), Preston Worley (7th District), Fred Brown (8th District), Whitney Baxter (9th District), David Sevigny (10th District), Jennifer Reynolds (11th District) and Kathy Plomin (12th District).

Renee Shaw, Director of Public Affairs and Moderator for KET, will serve as emcee of the event. Other program speakers include Consolidated Baptist Church Pastor Richard Gaines, Dean of the University of Kentucky College of Nursing Dr. Rosalie Mainous, Chief Fayette Circuit Court Judge Kimberly Bunnell, Owner of Crank & Boom Toa Green, and Mayor Gorton’s Chief of Staff Tyler Scott. There will be performances from Dr. Tedrin Blair Lindsay, the Gamelan Ensemble, Central Kentucky Youth Orchestra Chamber Group, Dr. Michael Preacely, Lilly Meekin, Logan Spears, Taylor Ayotte, Hailey Wells, U.S. Army Lt. Col. (RET) April Brown, the Enrique Gonazelez Band, and George Wakim.

The event is free and open to the public. Parking is available in the garage at the corner of South Limestone and Avenue of Champions, or in the surface lots behind Memorial Coliseum. The event is funded through private donations and organized by the Gorton Inaugural Planning Committee.