Flood damaged communities in eastern Kentucky can apply for more relief dollars

Republished from WEKU.

Communities in eastern Kentucky that suffered damage in the 2022 floods can now apply for additional federal relief funds. The Department for Local Government is taking applications for funding from Kentucky’s 2022 Disaster Recovery Program.

At a recent press conference, Governor Beshear said the money will be distributed to 20 eastern Kentucky counties.

“80% of the $297 million is going to five counties who were impacted the most and distressed most by the 2022 weather events. Those are Breathitt, Perry, Knott, Letcher, and Pike Counties.”

The other counties are Casey, Clay, Cumberland, Floyd, Harlan, Johnson, Lee, Leslie, Lincoln, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Powell, Whitley, and Wolfe.

Governor Beshear said citizens will have to opportunity to weigh in with their local communities.

  “Local governments, non-profits, for-profits, other governmental entities will be conducting public outreach to make sure they are meeting housing and infrastructure needs in their impacted communities.”  

  Applications can be completed by eligible cities, counties, nonprofits, for-profit organizations, and other governmental entities. Officials say these groups will be conducting public outreach to make sure they are meeting housing needs in their impacted communities.

Applications will be accepted for projects addressing housing, infrastructure, economic development, and resiliency planning.

** WEKU is working hard to be a leading source for public service, and fact-based journalism. Monthly supporters are the top funding source for this growing nonprofit news organization. Please join others in your community who support WEKU by making your donation.

Originally published by WEKU.

Republished with permission.