Kentucky approved for federal disaster declaration after April tornados

Republished from WEKU.

Eleven Kentucky counties has been approved for a federal disaster declaration following last month’s tornadoes. On April 2nd and 3rd 19 tornadoes ripped through the commonwealth, destroying homes and businesses.

During his Team Kentucky briefing on Thursday, Governor Beshear said Kentuckians, unfortunately have a lot of experience applying for aid like this. He encouraged those applying to not give up if they are initially rejected.

“If you’re filing an application, it may be a long process, and you might be denied a couple of times. Reach out, let us help you, we want you to ultimately be approved to get back on your feet.”

Governor Beshear said the assistance can go to a variety of uses for those who receive it.

“According to the White House, assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.”

The Governor added federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for the entire state.

The eleven impacted counties are Boyd, Carter, Fayette, Greenup, Henry, Jefferson, Jessamine, Mason, Oldham, Union and Whitley counties.

Additional counties could be added after additional damage assessments are completed.

Gov. Andy Beshear Youtube

Information for applying for disaster aid from April’s tornados

** WEKU is working hard to be a leading source for public service, and fact-based journalism. Monthly supporters are the top funding source for this growing nonprofit news organization. Please join others in your community who support WEKU by making your donation.

Originally published by WEKU.

Republished with permission.