FEMA opens four Disaster Recovery Centers to help assist April storm victims

Republished from WEKU.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency is opening four Disaster Recovery Centers this week to help Kentuckians impacted by storms in early April.

Residents of twelve Kentucky counties can apply for assistance from FEMA at the four centers. That includes Boyd, Carter, Fayette, Greenup, Henry, Jefferson, Jessamine, Mason, Oldham, Union and Whitley counties.

Centers are open at the Boyd County Emergency Management office in Ashland, the Emergency Operations Center at 115 Cisco Road in Lexington and the 4H Community Center in Henry County. A center at the Morganfield Senior Citizens Building in Union County opens Friday.

All centers will be open from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. through 6 p.m. Saturday and 1 p.m. through 5 p.m. Sunday.

FEMA says the centers can help with applications for assistance, which includes money for home repairs, childcare, transportation, medical needs, funeral and dental costs.

Storm victims can also apply for assistance online, by calling 800-621-3362 or through the FEMA mobile app.

** WEKU is working hard to be a leading source for public service, and fact-based journalism. Monthly supporters are the top funding source for this growing nonprofit news organization. Please join others in your community who support WEKU by making your donation.

Originally published by WEKU.

Republished with permission.