IRS allows Kentucky’s April storm victims more time to file and pay 2024 taxes

Republished from WEKU.

The IRS is allowing victims of April’s severe storms more time to file and pay their federal taxes.

Both individuals and businesses residing in certain Kentucky counties qualify. That includes Boyd, Carter, Fayette, Greenup, Henry, Jefferson, Jessamine, Mason, Oldham, Union and Whitley.

The disaster declaration means taxpayers now have until November 1 to file and pay their federal taxes.

Severe storms including straight-line winds, tornadoes, landslides and mudslides came through Kentucky April 2. One death was reported.

If a taxpayer gets a late filing or late payment penalty notice, they can call the telephone number on the notice to have the penalty waived. Taxpayers who were affected but live outside the disaster area can also request relief by calling the IRS disaster hotline at 866-562-5227.

** WEKU is working hard to be a leading source for public service, and fact-based journalism. Monthly supporters are the top funding source for this growing nonprofit news organization. Please join others in your community who support WEKU by making your donation.

Originally published by WEKU.

Republished with permission.